
NON-COMMERCIAL CLASS C APPLICATION  
***NOT FOR CDL CLASS A, B OR C LEARNER’S PERMITS, LICENSES OR WAIVERS*** 

Written Examination Fee Must Be Mailed With This Application 
PRINT 

FIRST NAME INITIAL LAST NAME 
MAILING 
ADDRESS 

  

PHYSICAL RESIDENCE  
Date of Birth Hair Color Eye Color Height Weight Sex Telephone # Social Security Number 

        
Month Day Year   Feet  Inches Pounds M,F,X (Non-binary) wŜǉǳƛǊŜŘ ƛŦ ŜƭƛƎƛōƭŜ ŦƻǊ {{b

 Class C *APPLICANT MUST BE AT LEAST FIFTEEN YEARS OF AGE* 
$35.00 *Basic license for operation of passenger cars and light trucks. 

*Applicants Fifteen years of age may hold a learner’s permit. You may not apply for a road test until attaining your sixteenth birthday. 

*All applicants under the age of eighteen must file a DRIVER’S EDUCATION COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE. 

*Anyone under the age of twenty-one must hold a permit for at least six months before applying for a road test. 

 Oral Examination: 
(check box if required) 

If you require an oral examination you may bring your 
own reader/translator at time of test. 

(Literacy or American Sign Language interpreters will be provided by the  
Bureau of Motor Vehicles upon advance request) 

Maine Organ and Tissue Fund donation:  (   ) $2.00 or (   ) Other ________ (specify amount) 

PLEASE ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS 
1) Place of birth YES NO 

  City or Town State or Country   
2) Are you applying for a learner’s permit examination?   
3) Have you completed a course in Driver’s Education?   

4) 
Do you hold or have you ever held a valid driver’s license from Maine or any other state, 
country or province; Class:              Expiration date:                    Where: 

  

5) 
Have you ever held a Maine learner’s permit or Non-driver identification card? 
If yes, under what name? (Print) 

  

6) 
Have you been convicted of violating any motor vehicle laws within the last ten years? 
What was the violation                                     Date:                     Where: 

  

7) 
Is your privilege to operate a motor vehicle under suspension or revocation in this state or 
any other state or province? 

  

8) Do you have any of the following medical conditions? (If NO, check box)    

 Blackouts/Loss of    
      Consciousness 

 Musculoskeletal/  
      Neurological 

 Substance Use 
      Disorder  Dementia 

 Heart Trouble   Hypoglycemia   Limb Amputation  Mental Disorder  
 Multiple Sclerosis  Narcolepsy  Parkinson’s  Seizures/Epilepsy 
 Sleep Apnea   Spinal Cord Injury   Stroke/Brain Injury   Chronic Lung Disease 
 Other conditions affecting your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle        

LEGAL SIGNATURE:  DATE:  
                            No Nicknames 

Under 18 Requires….. 
SIGNATURE OF PARENT OR GUARDIAN                                                                            RELATIONSHIP:                                                                     
MVE-64 REVISED нκнн PLEASE READ OTHER SIDE 



PLEASE MAKE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER PAYABLE TO: Secretary of State 

                                Mail to:                           Bureau of Motor Vehicles 

Examination Section 

State House Station # 29 

Augusta, ME  04333 

**PLEASE INCLUDE ALL FEES & IDENTIFICATION WITH THIS APPLICATION** 
 

REQUIREMENTS 

Two forms of identification required when submitting application materials. 
One must indicate your date of birth and the other must bear your written signature.  If you are the holder of a 

Driver’s License from any State or Province that license MUST ALSO be produced. Acceptable ID; 

Adoption Papers Copy of Marital Application Driver Education Card Military Discharge/Separation 

(DD-214)* 

Baptismal Records Court Record Driver’s License Military ID Card* 

Birth Certificate Divorce Papers Driver’s Permit Passport 

Citizenship or 

Immigration 

Documents 

Draft Card Medical Record from 

Doctor/Hospital 

School Record/Transcript 

(certified) 

Concealed Weapons Permit (gun permit) Military Dependent ID Card* Social Security Card 
 

Parent/Guardian (Parent/Guardian must appear in person and prove his/her identity, applies only to minors) 
 

Birth Certificate is required for applicants under the age of twenty-three 
Copy of the Birth Certificate must have the EMBOSSED SEAL or STAMP of the issuing agency. 

Notarized copies are NOT acceptable. 

 

All questions on this application must be answered and be accompanied by the required materials or the application will 

be returned, causing undue delay in being scheduled for an examination. 

 

Proof of residency and lawful presence is required upon submission of application. For a list of acceptable documents to 

establish such proof, refer to http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/getlicense.html 

 

The road test phase of the examination for a license may be waived for holders of a VALID out-of-state license. 

 

The Secretary of State may not accept this application for any minor under the age of eighteen years unless the application 

is signed by a Parent or Legal Guardian having custody of the minor or by the Spouse of the minor provided the spouse is 

eighteen years of age or older.  Any person who has signed the application for a minor to obtain an OPERATOR’S 

LICENSE or LEARNER’S PERMIT may thereafter file with the Secretary of State, a notarized written request that the 

license or learner’s permit of said minor, so granted, be suspended. 

 

*Veterans please visit the Bureau of Veterans’ Services website at http://www.maine.gov/veterans for information on 

state and federal benefits your military service may have earned you. 
 

I am aware that any misstatement on this application will result in immediate suspension or revocation of 

my permit or license and my privilege to operate in the State of Maine may be suspended for a period to 

be determined by the Secretary of State. Furthermore, I understand that knowingly supplying false 

information on this form is a Class D Crime. 

 

Manual available online: www.maine.gov/sos/bmv 

http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv/licenses/getlicense.html
http://www.maine.gov/veterans
http://www.maine.gov/sos/bmv
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